rose Blog

Questions & Answers Blog


Chronologies of People and Events


About this Site

Contact Information




Chief Justice of the King's Bench

1485-1495 William Huse
1495-1526 John Finieux
1526-1539 John FitzJames
1539-1545 Edward Montagu
1545-1552 Richard Lyster
1552-1553 Roger Cholmley
1553-1555 Thomas Bromley
1555-1557 William Portman
1557-1559 Edward Saunders
1559-1574 Robert Catlin
1574-1592 Christopher Wray
1592-1607 John Popham

Chief Justice of the Common Pleas

1485-1500 Thomas Bryan
1500-1502 Thomas Wood
1502-1506 Thomas Frowyk
1506-1519 Robert Read
1519-1521 John Ernle
1521-1531 Robert Brudenell
1531-1535 Robert Norwich
1535-1545 John Baldwin
1545-1553 Edward Montagu
1553-1554 Richard Morgan
1554-1558 Robert Brooke
1558-1559 Anthony Browne
1559-1582 James Dyer
1582-1605 Edmund Anderson

Keeper of the Privy Seal

1485-1487 Peter Courtenay, Bishop of Exeter
1487-1516 Richard Fox
1516-1523 Thomas Ruthall, Bishop of Durham
1523-1523 Sir Henry, Lord Marny
1523-1530 Cuthbert Tunstal, Bishop of London
1530-1536 Thomas Boleyn, Earl of Wiltshire and Ormonde
1536-1540 Thomas, Lord Cromwell, Secretary of State and Earl of Essex
1540-1542 William FitzWilliam, Earl of Southampton
1542-1555 John Russell, Lord Russel and Earl of Bedford
1555-1555 William Paget
1559-1572 William Cecil, Lord Burghley
1572-1573 William, Lord Howard of Effingham
1573-1576 Sir Thomas Smith, Secretary of State
1576-1590 Sir Frances Walsingham, Secretary of State
1590-1598 Lord Burghley
1598-1603 Robert Cecil

Lord Chancellor

1485-1485 Thomas Rotherham, Archbishop of York
1485-1487 John Alcock, Bishop of Winchester and Ely
1487-1500 John Morton, Archbishop of Canterbury
1515-1529 Thomas Wolsey, Archbishop of York and other titles
1529-1532 Sir Thomas More
1533-1544 Sir Thomas Audley
1544-1547 Sir Thomas Wriothesely
1547-1551 Lord Richard Rich
1552-1553 Thomas Goodrich (or Goodricke), Bishop of Ely
1553-1555 Stephen Gardiner, Archbishop of York
1556-1558 Nicholas Heath, Archbishop of York
1579-1587 Sir Thomas Bromley
1587-1591 Sir Christopher Hatton

Lord Keeper of the Great Seal

1500-1502 Henry Deane, Archbishop of Canterbury
1502-1504 William Warham, Archbishop of Canterbury
1532-1533 Sir Thomas Audley
1547-1547 William Paulet, Lord St. John
1551-1552 Thomas Goodrich (or Goodricke), Bishop of Ely
1558-1579 Sir Nicholas Bacon
1592-1596 Sir John Puckering
1596-1603 Sir Thomas Egerton

Lord Treasurer

1484-1486 John Tuchet, Lord Audley
1486-1501 John Dynham, Lord Dynham
1501-1522 Thomas Howard, Earl of Surrey and Duke of Norfolk
1522-1547 Thomas Howard, Earl of Surrey and 2nd Duke of Norfolk
1547-1550 Edward Seymour, Protector and Duke of Somerset
1550-1572 William Paulet, Earl of Wiltshire and Marquis of Winchester
1572-1598 William Cecil, Lord Burghley
1599-1603 Sir Thomas Sackville, Lord Buckhurst

Master of the Rolls of the Court of Chancery

1485-1486 Robert Morton
1486-1492 David William
1492-1494 John Blythe
1494-1502 William Warham
1502-1504 William Barnes
1504-1508 Christopher Bainbridge
1508-1516 John Yonge
1516-1522 Cuthbert Tunstall
1522-1523 John Clerke
1523-1527 Thomas Hannibal
1527-1534 John Taylor, Archdeacon of Derby and Buckingham
1534-1536 Thomas Cromwell
1536-1541 Christopher Hales
1541-1550 Sir Robert Southwell
1550-1552 John Beaumont
1552-1553 Sir Robert Bowes
1553-1557 Sir Nicholas Hare
1557-1581 Sir William Cordell
1581-1594 Sir Gilbert Gerrard
1594-1603 Sir Thomas Egerton

President of the Council in the Marches

1534-1543 Rowland Lee, Bishop of Coventry and Lichfield
1543-1548 Richard Sampson, Bishop of Coventry and Lichfield
1548-1550 John Dudley, Earl of Warwick
1550-1553 William Herbert, Earl of Pembroke
1553-1555 Nicholas Heath, Bishop of Worcester
1555-1558 William Herbert, Earl of Pembroke
1558-1559 Gilbert Bourne, Bishop of Bath and Wells
1559-1559 John Williams, Lord Williams of Thame
1560-1586 Sir Henry Sidney
1586-1602 Henry Herbert, Earl of Pembroke

President of the Council of the North

1530-1533 Cuthbert Tunstall, Bishop of Durham
1533-1536 Henry Percy, Earl of Northumberland
1536-1537 Thomas Howard, Duke of Norfolk
1537-1538 Cuthbert Tunstall, Bishop of Durham
1538-1540 Robert Holgate, Bishop of Llandaff
1550-1560 Francis Talbot, Earl of Shrewsbury
1561-1563 Henry Manners, Earl of Rutland
1564-1564 Ambrose Dudley, Earl of Warwick
1564-1568 Thomas Young, Archbishop of York
1568-1572 Thomas Radcliffe, Earl of Sussex
1572-1595 Henry Hastings, Earl of Huntingdon
1596-1599 Matthew Hutton, Bishop of Durham and Archbishop of York
1599-1603 Thomas Cecil, Lord Burghley